Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Import and export of fruits and vegetables have been increased via air transportation, so that areas where supply of fruits and vegetables is limited, or they ran out of session can be fulfilled. There are some pros related to availability and employment. Also, some drawback such as expenses and diseases. The primary advantage of importing and exporting of fruits and vegetables, leads to creates strong relationship among countries by fulfilling the need of required product and making it available to the residents of the country. Also, some countries lack appropriate climate conditions for some fruits and vegetables to be grown. Moreover, job vacancies are created in both countries owing to import- export. There are many workers needed to work at ports and warehouses to ready the shipments for exporting. A survey by Delaware state was conducted, stating 60 percent of employment was increased due to ports in the cities as compared to other cities. Every coin has two sides, there are some drawbacks for the import and export. The first disadvantage can be related to increased expenses due to international shipping charges of the products. There are many fruits and vegetables which are not affordable by middle class people. Fruits such as Kiwi and Dragon fruit in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh are very expensive and cannot be purchased by regular people on daily basis. The second consequence is disease transfer is more likely to occur when buying imported fruits and vegetables. For instance, in 2020 some diseases were discovered in Australia after they received corn and wheat from Russia and after laboratory research same disease was already in Russia. To sum up, there are advantages of import- export such as creating job vacancies and strong relation but, some drawbacks also exist such as related to expenses and transfer of diseases.