16.When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sports facilities than shopping centres for people to spend their free time in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that on planning a new city, it is more importante to construct public parks and sports venues than shopping malls where people spend their leisure time. I totally agree with this idea beacause parks and sports facilities bring more benefits to the citizens in long-term than shopping centres do. In general, shopping centres attract a lot of people and promote trade and job creation, but the main part of the profits is concentrated in a few big companies. The consumers like to spend their free time and their money in shopping malls, because it give a sensation of prosperity and security. Moreover, everybody ends up consuming something in theirs shops, and sometimes, poor people are kept way from this places. On the other hand, public parks and sports spaces normallly are free of charge and are an opportunity to keep contact with the nature, and live a healthier life. In the medium and long term, this kind of facilities is more important to towns and it helps to promote health and leisure for all social classes. So, to conclude, I believe that is more important design public areas for parks and places to do sports than bulding shops areas. The entrepreneurs will find locales to do theirs business anyway. However, the public power has the responsibility to encourage better life-style throught throughout free publics venues like sports facilities and parks.