Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Currently, several people started to believe efficacy of alternative medicines and treatments, some of them even rejected scientific treatments by modern medicine, when they have health issues. From my perspective, it undoubtedly comes from human superstition. So, it is a principally negative trend. At first, modern medical science has its rigorousness, which means any medicine needs to be tested multiple times by authorities before widespread adoption, ensuring that it is safe to use for the human body. Whereas, those alternative medicines and treatments are basically from unreliable books or even some rumours on the internet, without any scientific basements and tests to verify their efficacy. Even worse, they may bring detrimental effects on health. So, it is irrational to trust those 'magic medicines '. Secondly, people insisting on accepting alternative treatments merely would be dangerous, once they get serious diseases. Since for most serious illnesses, patients have to receive treatments appropriately and urgently in the hospital, once they miss the best opportunity for treatments, it will be complicated to deal with it, furthermore, threatening the patient's life. It is evidenced by the death rate decreasing due to the development of medical science, rather than alternative treatments. For instance, many alternative medicines and treatments are from ancient China and India. However, there is no proof indicating that ancient China and India had better medical quality for curing more people. In contrast, modern medical science introducing and developing there since the 19th century has saved many lives. In conclusion, this is not to say that people should lose any interest in alternative medicines, however, it has to be researched within the scientific frame. When people get sick or feel uncomfortable, it is necessary to go to the hospital and receive appropriate treatments on time. After all, life is precious for everyone.