Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are competing views on whether advertising has an impact on us to buy things. Although, advertisements are so common, I still think that we do not pay attention to them and advertising a product is persuade us to shop by creating needs. People are exposed to repetitive commercials everyday. As advertising is now on eveywhere, people are no longor can avoid. As a result, they perefer not to pay any attention. For exmaple, when people wish relaxing by watching a video on youtube, the first thing they encounter is advertisement after advertisement before reaching the video. However, I do no think that not paying attention to repetetive adds has no influence on people's shopping. In fact, they can not protect their subcouncious from repeting advertisement. Others, on the other hand, argues that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to shop as they create new needs. We see some new product through adds and we start thinking that we need that product for some reasons. For example, evey year, Apple introduces its new Iphone with little changes made on the previous model. They display brand new phone through advertising and people start thining they need to change their phone with that latest Iphone. I agree with this argument because as discussed above, advertising creates new needs for people and eventually they persuade people to buy things. In conclusion, although people are expose to advertising every day, it is not possible to avoid its effects subcounciously. Therefore I beleive that advertisement is very successful as it creates new needs for us.