In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree with this option?

Junk food is undoubtedly everywhere nowadays. And countries with higher income tend to have more junk food chain than those with lower income. It is in those places too that the health problem caused by unhealthy food occurs the most. Although viable, the idea of increasing the tax imposed to this type of food would not solve this issue at hand, as wealthy people could just afford to buy them anyway. If any, it could produce an unnecessary side effect to other sector such as the overall economy of said country. Therefore, I am more inclined to disagree with the notion of increasing the tax for this type of food. The first issue is that people with enough money would still be able to buy fast foods. Ironically, people with enough money are the people who got exposed the most by diseases caused by junk foods. Therefore, it is redundant to gatekeep these items by increasing their prices, and, if any, would only cause them to be even more vulnerable to health issue as the money that can be otherwise spent on healthy activities such as gym membership are used for buying unhealthy stuff. The second issue is that there is a lingering threat that other sector of the society could be affected by this movement. The most notable one is going to be the economic sector. If we increase the tax for unhealthy type of foods and beverages, it could lead to a decrease in demand and therefore drop the value of these items. If the problem doesn't get resolved soon, it could then lead to an inflation that is unnecessarily time-consuming and needs a lot of money to fix. In the end, I could not see the good of the idea to increase tax for unhealthy food. It would only reduce the people who eat them which would then lead to inflation or doesn't affect people at all, and they would just continue to consume them even though the price increases. Therefore, I disagree with the idea of increasing the tax for this type of commodity.