Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives, so it is a waste of time to read news in the newspaper and watch news programs on television . To what extent do you agree or disagree?

News has been the means of getting information for many decades. However, it is said that reading and watching the news program is useless. In this essay, I will argue why I totally disagree with this statement. To begin with, one of the major reasons why we should keep up with the news is because we can get up-to-date information about what is happening all around the world. For instance, in 2020, there was a sudden COVID-19 outbreak that required civilians to stay at home and wear a mask outside the house. There was no way the citizens could hear the pandemic except by reading information through the newspaper. As a result, many people could quarantine and survive the disaster. Clearly, accessing news is a crucial thing to do these days. The second reason why we should stay informed through news is we can develop critical thinking skills. By following the news, you are exposed to a variety of perspectives and viewpoints on current events. Furthermore, this can help you develop your critical thinking skills, as you learn to evaluate different sources of information and form your own opinions based on evidence and reasoning. As an example, my cousin formed a habit of reading the newspaper every morning. Therefore, he can build informed conversations with others on a variety of topics such as politics, science, health, and technology. In conclusion, this essay argues that people need to keep in touch with current events by develop their current routine to watch and read the news. In my opinion, everyone should stay updated with the news.