Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether sport is necessary for school children or not is very topical today as so many children do not tend to do physical activities nowadays. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss now. Regarding the supporters of this idea, sport has a lot of benefits for students. One of the most important advantages of this is that not only does it helps to develop physical features of children, but also it puts them in a good state of health. For instance, when children play football in their phys-ed classes, they have to warm up before the beginning of the class, run at least for 90 minutes, and warm up when the game finishes. All of these activities burn calories and it is good for their health. In addition, sport can have a good effect on their mind and prepare them for their lessons. Turning to the opponents of this idea, the main reason for going to school is to learn academic subjects and courses. They believe sport is a distracting activity and has negative effects on student attraction. The consequence of this distraction can be harmful. Furthermore, they think is not fair to make youngsters who are not interested in sport to enrol in the class. Finally, another reason for this claim is that children especially younger ones might be injured and hurt due to lack of safety and equipment. In conclusion, I feel that sport should be a must for school children as it has numerous positive effects which outweigh the drawbacks. As long as children have the opportunity to choose their favorite sport class.