Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

People have been dedicating themselves to the essence of happiness for centuries, but nowadays it is still complex for us to define happiness. There do seem to be multiple reasons for it and surely, a range of vital factors are involved at the same time, with regard to achieving happiness. Speaking of the difficulty of the universal definition of happiness, the first reason that I came up with is the generation, which directly establishes the way we perceive happiness. For example, the younger generation tends to focus on the instant satisfaction of joy, by contrast, the elderly are inclined to long-term welfare, which means, a common sense of happiness between different generations is of low feasibility. Apart from that, gender roles also lead to another reason, showing an inconsistency in the way men and women understand happiness. For instance, breadwinners prioritize work as their happiness, whereas housewives’ happiness is often based on company and care. It is exactly reasons like generations and gender roles that make happiness so multifaceted and difficult to define. However, there are still some common needs that most of us will feel practical to achieve happiness. Firstly, mental and physical health. To some extent, it is the foundational asset to make happiness achievable. Research shows that over 70% of adults who constantly feel miserable and unhappy in their daily lives are medically suffering from either physical chronic diseases or mental illness like paranoia. Secondly, ambitions. I undoubtfully believe that those with ambitions are more likely to maintain an optimistic attitude when facing their lives. In my own experience, my ambition to be an artist brings me joy and hope that made me overcome my lowest period, that is where I find my happiness. In conclusion, happiness is difficult to define because people with specific generations and gender roles would build their own understandings of happiness after all, but I believe that health and ambition will always be the preconditions before we perceive the true meaning of happiness.