There are more new towns nowadays. It is more important to include public parks and sports facilities for individuals to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that leisure time activities play an important role in the development of city and social life. Many people believe that cities should have versatile public centres such as parks and sports centres for people to enjoy their leisure time, I firmly agree that Cities that have public facilities can provide a better quality of life. This essay will elaborate on my position with relevant arguments and examples. The foremost reason to support my view is that the number of public centres measures a city's social life performance which can reduce mental health problems caused by loneliness. This is because, they provide a safe environment for people to socialise and interact with one another. For instance, recent Harvard studies show that being surrounded by public centres enhances a healthy lifestyle in large cities, as seen in examples such as New York and Montreal. Therefore, cities benefit from public facilities as they serve as a source of stress relief for their residents. Furthermore, another reason to justify my stance is that public areas can reduce the impact of climate change by planting more trees and maintaining green spaces. In addition, these initiatives can raise awareness among people and add value to their lives. To illustrate, British Columbia's community has numerous facilities and was selected as the best community for preserving its public centres well. This clearly demonstrates that creating more public spaces can change people's minds. In conclusion, although cities are growing swiftly and require more space for accommodation, I completely agree that these facilities have positive consequences for people's mental health and environmental awareness.