Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many times authorities face the hard decision of whether investing in railways before routes. I strongly believe that building railways and other train facilities carries way more advantages that constructiong construction roads, such as the reduction of carbon exhausts and the expansion of cities. Firstly, building railways helps connecting cities and even countries. For decades, trains have facilitated the transportation of people and goods between different locations in a map. This event has helped small villages develop into bigger cities since more people were able to reach these places. A good example of this are the Europen countries: urban sprawl has been much more easier thanks to the development of the railway system, allowing communities to connect to one another. Secondly, the expansion of rail lines is benefitial to the environment. Nowadays, most trains use electric energy to function rather than fossil fuel, meaning that they leave a smaller carbon footprint. Furthermore, traveling by train is cheaper than owning a automobile, which leads to an increase of people choosing to use trains to commute short and long distances instead of private vehicles. Consequently, there would be less pollution coming from the emissions provoked by cars. In conclusion, the government should be more interested in spending more money on railways so as to make people choose greener means of transport like trains and to develop cities.