Should universities penalize students for late submission of their work?

The importance of penalizing students for late completion of their assignments which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. The substantial influence of this trend has sparked controversy over its potential impact in recent years. In my opinion, the former proposition appears to be more rational. This essay will further elaborate on both the positive and negative sides of this trend and thus will lead to a logical conclusion. There are myriad benefits of punishment to students for delay in submission of their tasks but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that it makes them punctual, responsible and disciplined. It motivates them to finish their work on time. Another pivotal advantage is that it reduces the tutor's responsibility. Moreover, in the absence of it, the aspirants might become careless, which is not suitable for their grades. However, there are some pitfalls that negate these arguments but the most alarming one is that due to the fear of timely submission, aspirants do not deliver quality in their work. Besides, it may lead learners to commit serious offences like plagiarism. In addition, students might lose interest in their studies and get demoralised. Hence, it is apparent why many are against this trend. To recapitulate, according to the arguments aforementioned above, one can conclude that the benefits of penalizing aspirants for not doing timely submission of their assignments are instrumental indeed. Nevertheless, its potential drawbacks should not be overlooked either.