Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Voluntary work is often considered a win-win practice to benefit teenagers and society, while I cannot agree that all teenagers are required to do so, as if it is compulsory. The compulsoriness claiming that unpaid work should be teenagers ’ mandatory duty is essentially a type of disrespectfulness to teenagers ’ rights. Teenagers, as the majority of citizens, have the same rights as we all do, to make their own decisions on how to spend their free time. Considering that, voluntary work could be promoted among teenagers but should never be compulsory. To illustrate this, if there were actually regulations about mandatory unpaid work designated for teenagers, it is foreseeable that they would feel their rights offended, probably leading to petition and demonstration, or even worse conflictions in the local community. Additionally, most unpaid work doesn’t help much with teenagers ’ courses or career plans. For instance, a student who wants to be a graphic designer tends to accumulate his experience in art field while none of the existing voluntary vacancies is compatible with his career plan, which means, his free time fulfilled with voluntary work is indeed a waste of effort. Doing this can only lead to resentment amongst young people, who would feel that they were being used, and parents, who would not want to be told how to raise their children. Currently, nobody is forced to volunteer, and this is surely the best system. In conclusion, teenagers may choose to work for free and help others, but in my opinion we should not make this compulsory.