As compared to the past, children these days spend more of their leisure time indoors with computures and TV and less time outdoors. Describe some of the problems this lack of outdoor leisure time can cause and suggest at least one possible solution.

Compared to the past, children nowadays spend more of their free time indoors with technology than outdoors. This essay will discuss the problems caused by the lack of outdoor activities and suggest a few potential solutions. First of all, the absence of outdoor free time will cause some health issues. For example, researchers have proven that facing screens will lead to visual impairment, and a lack of body movement will lead to obesity. Another cause is that children will not be able to develop social skills by spending their time on computers and other electronic devices indoors. This often results in bad communication skills, loneliness, and depression. This shows that there are major causes for the absence of outdoor leisure time, such as health and social problems. On the other hand, there are potential solutions to the causes. It is recommended that parents reduce the amount of time children spend on technology in the house. If parents are restricted in limiting the time spent on computers and TV screens indoors, it will reduce its risks. For instance, an hour a day is convenient for the child to spend in the house watching TV and using computers. A second solution would be introducing outdoor hobbies for children to practice, such as football, basketball, swimming, and other outdoor activities. Therefore, in order to overcome the causes of indoor leisure time, it is advocated that children should be limited in their time using technology and experience other outdoor interests. In conclusion, children these days prefer spending their leisure time indoors instead of going out. This essay has discussed the causes of indoor leisure time, which are health issues and a lack of social skills. This essay suggested two solutions: limiting time spent on computers and TV screens and enrolling in outdoor hobbies.