Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, pencil or brush. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is said that the number of people who use a particular kind of pen to write has been decreasing. From my viewpoint, its root lies with advances in technology, which have had impacts on every aspect of human lives. I am of the opinion that the aforementioned phenomenon is largely positive. The foremost reason for the decline might be the use of modern devices for writing and communication. Smartphones and laptops are prime illustrations. These enable their users to make notes or create a document whenever they want, and this form of text is usually more legible than handwritten one. For instance, undergraduates are likely to type their academic essays, which should be easy to read. Another reason is the growth of digital communication. Specifically, individuals are able to send texts or emails via the Internet effortlessly. Ultimately, the developed technologies with such strengths are likely to undermine the importance of handwriting skills. Overall, this development is of great benefit in terms of convenience, speed, and legibility. However, writing by hand is believed to be beneficial in psychology; for instance, handwritten cards are so sentimental that they are usually used for special occasions. Additionally, some studies show that if people spent time practising writing, it would help them to become more patient. Eventually, these advantages might not be as impactful as those of the prior. In conclusion, the decline in the number of people writing by hand is mainly caused by the prevalence of using electronic devices for typing and communicating. I believe this is a positive trend, although the old-school writing methods have some merits.