People living in the 21st century enjoy a better standard of living than people in previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the World standards of living are at a high level. Although, a number of people think the standards of living in past were worse than today, I completely agree with those who say that the living standards of these days are better off due to advanced technology and science. One the one hand, below are some of the reasons why people's living standards were worse than today. Firstly, the value of their money. It is clearly seen that some countries had a low currency exchange of money which would not help them to develop incase they wanted to carry out any development. For example, if Ugandan currency had been high a few decades ago, Uganda would have been among the rich countries. Secondly, 40 years ago, poor infrastructure in undeveloped countries increased to poor standards of living as result of people not being able to transport their goods to the market places. For instance, East African nations experienced such challenges and this was a hinder to their development. Thus living standards became poorer. On the other hand, the reasons to why societies enjoy a better standard of living are as follows. To begin with, improved technology and science has contributed so much. Whereby people find it so easy to communicate to one another when doing business. Also, scientists have also produced a lot of drugs to treat different illnesses. To illustrate more, devlopment of phones and computers has not only simplified communications but also increased friendship among nations. Hence the world living standards becoming better. In conclusion, even though, the standards of living in past were not good due to bad roads and low currencies, I believe that today individuals enjoy it because of improvement in technologies and I think the government should work hard for more advanced technologies so as the standards can continue to be high.