It has been suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been stated that children at primary school level should be taught about the art of vegetable growing and taking care of animals. In this essay, I will discuss why the pros outweigh the cons for this notion and form a conclusion. Firstly, when the young are in primary educational facilities it is fundamental that they are taught skills that will benefit them well into their adult lives. Such skills, such as responsibility and time management can be demonstrated through the growth of produce. In order for such food to survive they must be watered on a regular basis, which is the sole responsibility of the child. Furthermore, responsibility and appropriate level of care giving are needed in many occupations, thus aiding the youth in their future careers. Secondly, pets are notoriously difficult to keep and require hours of patience and endurance. This is due to, the hours they need to be fed, washed and taken care of. Again, animal keeping is another way in which children learn mannerisms, like endurance and pererverance, which will be used in later life. On the other hand, focusing soley on the nuturing of vegetation or creature upbringing can lead to the neglect of other subjects. For instance, the youth may view these activities as more fun and pay more time and attention to such avenues rather than completing their maths homework. Conversely, they may grow bored or lose attraction in such hobbies in a short matter of time. This means that, they will end up neglecting these creative outlets and search for new attractive avenues instead. Additionally, they may hold the expectation that their parents will take care of their belongings instead. In conclusion, there are more advantages in cultivating produce and pets, such as perserverance and ownership compared to disadvantages.