Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it than by actually visiting it. How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that you cannot learn by watching progammes and films about it? Give reasons for your answers and include any revelant examples from your own experience.

It is believed that learning about foreign cultures through television shows and films is more effective than going directly to other countries. In my opinion, I suppose the statement is wrong in some aspects. And there are a few things that holidaymakers can explore beyond their homes that viewers cannot just by looking at the screen. On the one hand, programs normally provide their viewers with outstanding aspects of the country presented. The contents always reflect the good sides of the country, aiming to attract visitors. For example, some programs show the friendliness and hospitality of the local inhabitants but the reality is the opposite. Consequently, they may feel appalled when the real experience is contrasted. However, thanks to these shows, they can have a general comprehension of the destination that they want to discover without spending any penny. Another example is that an audience possibly gains whole ideas about China via works shown on television. On the other hand, I hold a strong belief that there are loads of things that only holidaymakers can experience. Take the cuisine as an example, viewers cannot taste the food just by watching, but when visiting, they can have a chance to try it and also observe the detailed demonstration. In addition, tourists spending a fortune and time to discover a new land, definitely broaden their horizons when communicating with local people and engaging in activities held. In conclusion, while television programs and films offer a glimpse into the attractions of a foreign country, the limitations in portraying the full spectrum of reality become apparent when one ventures beyond the screen. The immersive experience of travel, encompassing interactions with local residents, trying diverse cuisines, and engaging in local activities, provides an unparalleled understanding that goes beyond the scripted narratives of media