Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that governments spend a huge amount of money on railway programs instead of highways. I completely agree with this point of view. Although roads play an important role in the cities, railways have a significant impact not only on the transportation system but also for helping the environment. There are a considerable number of reasons why spending money on railways is far more productive than roads. First, using underground transportation can reduce greenhouse gases, such as CO2 and methane which would have good effect on the environment. For example, if the number of railways increase, people are more likely to use them for everyday life, and they will not stick in traffic jams also they will be able to go anywhere that they want as fast as possible. However, building more roads encourage people to use their own cars instead of public transportation and it can cause to go up harmful gases. In addition to that, railway networks are crucial for economic activity. This network connection can link cities and countries to each other for communication such as transferring goods. For instance, the China-Europe railway express which moves cargo containers from China to London in 18 to 19 days is much faster than ships, also airplanes are ten times more expensive instead of trains. Although roads transport may also be cost-effective, it cannot provide the speed like railways. In conclusion, government spending should be on railways rather than roads. For one thing, railways are more efficient, for another, they play a big part in economic activities.