Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that these days lots of people feel that the government should produce their food. The question is, why do countries have to produce most of the food they eat? In this essay, I am going to discuss my view and I will draw my personal conclusion. In the terms of the positive side, If the country produces their food it will reflect positively on their economy. The main reason given to support this claim is that there will be lots of jobs. To illustrate, If they start to produce food they will need farms, factories, markets and logistics. In other words, there will be a high rate of employment and economic movement also a wealth of economic returns. Moreover, a very common point in my opinion. I see that is the most important reason, food security for the community and country. Firstly, the availability. In other words, there might be more availability of fruits, vegetables, rice, flour and other food stuff for daily needs. Secondly, that may impact directly on prices. This is because that could be cheaper and everyone would be able to buy It. Although, there are many problems such as international competition, sometimes imported food is much cheaper than local one, in this case, the countries are used to buying It. In conclusion, although some countries tend to purchase imported foods that they see is cheaper than the local, the other group of countries prefer to have food security by producing their own foods. Therefore, I believe that countries should produce their own food.