In the past, when student did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? you should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Trends of studying in their own country were common among the students pursuing a university degree. But, going abroad to study has become more popular and widely practised. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages of this notion and the essay will try to depict both views. Supporting in favour of advantages, it is a common belief that migrating to different countries in the world eliminates the barrier between two different nations and creates a strong bond through cultural exchanges. Also, students get a chance to study with more facilities in their favourite sector as the universities of the developed countries are rich in types of equipment and other extensions in the field of education and research. Moreover, those brightest minds who get the chance to study abroad mostly get full waivers which helps them to run their study smoothly. To cite an example, countries with top-ranking universities often offer plenty of scholarships and research funds to support future prodigies. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks regarding students moving from their motherland to abroad. The fact is that, students tend to settle in the countries they moved to if they find better opportunities. This, in fact, creates an intellectual gap in their motherland as those less-developed countries continuously lose the meritorious people they had before. As a result, this type of draining of would-be assets from a country creates a negative impact on the economy as well as the social activities also. For instance, Africa has lost a vast majority of talented people in recent years who are now shining in the different countries of Europe and America while Africa is suffering from a fragile economic condition. In conclusion, the tendency of students to move abroad to conduct higher studies has both merits and demerits. In fact, countries should be more careful about funding in the research sector in order to motivate the students to settle down in their motherland in order to develop the country more effectively.