Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Smartphones have become addictive among all age groups in this day and age. It is also believed that many kids nowadays spend most of their time on their phones. This essay will examine this case and discuss whether it is a positive or a negative trend. On the one hand, there are several reasons why children waste their time on their phones. One reason is outdated entertainment playgrounds. For example, children nowadays prefer updated games in playgrounds to children from back then, such as updated arcades instead of seeking games on their smartphones. Another reason may be the acquired sedentary lifestyles from their folks. For instance, kids are influenced by the adults in their daily lives. Moreover, if their parents or caregivers are less physically active, children may acquire the same habit and seek entertainment with less activity, such as smartphones. Lastly, social media platforms brought the world closer and made communication worldwide easier. Furthermore, it is likely that children may end up on these platforms connecting with the outside world for hours. On the other hand, spending hours on smartphones can be a damaging trend when it comes to children's brain development. There are numerous reasons for this. One example is the fast, short clips viewed nowadays on different platforms, causing a rapid and fast increase in dopamine levels for short periods. This is believed to cause short attention spans later on. Another reason is the negative physiological effect of constant exposure to screens on visual health, leading to poor sight eventually. In conclusion, as can be clearly seen, there are many reasons why some children spend most of their time on their phones. However, this case has its negative consequences on their overall health.