Many governments spend too much money on weapons and military equipment. It would be better for the government to use the money spent on the military to improve its citizens' quality of life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

An enormous percentage of government budgets is used to buy military machines and weapons. Some argue that this expenditure on national defence should instead be put towards making the public's standard of living better. While I understand this opinion, I partially disagree with it. In this essay, I will present reasons to support my viewpoint. To begin with, it is easy to understand why people may argue that governments need to decrease military expenses and invest more in citizens' quality of life. The major reason for this is that the costly, state-of-the-art firearms and equipment used by soldiers seem unnecessary as wars rarely break out nowadays. While governments are busy equipping their armies with war machines, many average civilians are struggling to make a living. This means that governments are not fulfilling all of their responsibilities towards these citizens. Hence, many people believe that governing bodies should secure more money to serve their people by cutting the national defence budget. However, a country's military power can provide protection and improve people's quality of life. There is always the possibility that armed conflicts could break out between countries due to differing religious beliefs, territorial disputes, etc. If a militarily weak country loses to neighbouring states, the lives of people living there will be miserable, and they may be forced to flee to another country. However, people can safely stay in countries that possess cutting-edge jet fighters, missiles, and bombs because other nations wouldn't dare to harass such a heavily armed country. People would feel that they are protected both inside and outside of their borders. In conclusion, I understand why some people want their governments to stop pouring funds into powerful armies and instead allocate more money for necessary services. Having said that, I disagree with this view because a strong country with great military strength can protect its people and improve their quality of life.