Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people all around the world are deciding to migrate from rural areas to urban areas. I believe the disadvantages of this event outweigh the advantages. It is clear that by this migration, the population of the countryside is decreasing, as a result, it will stop agricultural growth so there might be a risk to the food chain of humans. For example, with a lack of labourers to work on farms, there will be a shortage in the amount of necessary nutrition for human bodies. I believe there are some reasons which drive people to move to the cities, like the lack of facilities and secure jobs in the suburbs. Although from the rural perspective, this decision seems reasonable in order to experience a better life, It is going to have some consequences. By this phenomenon, the population of urban areas is rapidly growing and governments couldn't adapt themselves to this situation, thus the air will become more polluted and streets will be overcrowded and congested. It is expected there is going to be less space for housing in cities, so citizens will be forced to live in tiny apartments. Finally, individuals' mental health would be affected since there is no space for living, and no fresh air for breathing. In conclusion, the population growth that is happening in the cities due to the movements from villages to the towns will have negative impacts on both the economy and satisfaction level of nations.