You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Others think parents do not need to do that as children can read books or watch TV, movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some would argue that there is no need for parents to read stories since children can help themselves with reading and watching videos. While allowing children to explore books or movies encourages them to be independent, I believe that storytelling is a great measure to help offspring's development. On the one hand, when children engage with books, TV, or movies on their own, they may develop critical thinking skills by interpreting and analyzing the content without immediate guidance. Furthermore, independent exploration exposes children to a wide range of narratives and perspectives beyond what parents might select. This exposure can contribute to a more comprehensive understanding of the world. For example, generations born with smartphones, tend to feel more alone and isolated than older generations which leads to mental health issues in their formative years. However, I believe that this does not improve children's development because letting the kids stay alone for a long time will make them have autism. On the other hand, reading or telling stories can create a strong emotional bond between parents and children. The shared experience fosters a sense of connection and emotional development. Additionally, parents can provide guidance and explanations during the storytelling process, enhancing the child's comprehension and learning. This interactive approach may contribute to better cognitive and linguistic development. For instance, neglected babies, are proven to have emotional control and communication problems in their adulthood. In conclusion, although allowing children to explore media independently provides flexibility and convenience, it is not better than parents spending their time with the young by telling stories.