Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important fir everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and,if so,how?

Nowadays, in most countries, the English language is widely taught in schools compared to its native language. Thus, many people think that their local language is in danger and may disappear very soon. Although learning an international language is important, authorities need to widespread the usage of the country’s language among their population to save their cultural heritage with the help of their own language. Initially, English is taught in educational systems because it has international value and is popular around the world. Thus, the government considers that if children learn this, it might lead to a prosperous future with many valuable opportunities. For example, many top-tier universities require students to know the English language, like Oxford, Cambridge, or Harvard, as their educational systems are only in foreign languages. Hence, learning continental languages plays a significant role in building future career and business success. However, learners should not forget about their native language, as it is not only a linguistic skill but also knowledge about culture and history. Therefore, knowing and using the native language binds the young generation with the elderly. For instance, Japan places a priority on implementing the natal tongue in its educational structure, as it is one of the ways to teach about cultural diversity and background. In order to increase the usage of these language, authorities may add it as a mandatory subject at schools and universities. In conclusion, both linguistic skills are important for learners, so it would be beneficial if they were taught simultaneously. One of them is substantial for tomorrow; another is about the origin of a specific area.