some people think it id important to construct new buildings rather than wasting money on maintaing old ones.To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The issue of refurbishing old buildings is widely debated, with some people claiming that they should replace with new ones. However, I personally do not entirely accept this, and I will explain why in this essay. Firstly, constructing new buildings instead of repairing and maintaining old ones causes wasting numerous products and materials such as chalk, sand, stone and wood which leads to consumerism and this happening has a lot of disadvantages for environment. For example, woods are one of the vital materials for all types of buildings. They can be used for doors, windows and parquet. If they do not repair and reuse again, this overuse would destroy forests and jungles which has bad effect on the ecosystem. Secondly, it is a fact that any kind of construction is exorbitant and needs to expend huge amount of money. Destroying the whole building and rebuilding it again needs more money than refurbish it. Thus it has no economic benefit. Finally, building is one of the time-consuming activities and you have to put a lot of energy and effort for it. Admittedly, it is true that newly-built buildings generally have better and more modern facilities or decoration, but it should be consider that with correct maintaining and little repair old building can have that changes. In conclusion, I feel that refurbishment of run-down building is essential, both for economic reasons and to support and protect the environment. It seems that new buildings are highly unlikely to replace the old ones.