As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays internet are becoming the most popular option, in order to gain the latest information. Some people say, the online media will replace the position of newspapers, as the latter are considered as a part of the past. In some ways, the newspapers might lose its place in the market. Through this essay I will explain my position, why I agree with the statement. Firstly, the cost to produce a newspaper cannot match the expense on publishing an online news. As we know that the online media does not need anything to be printed. This efficiency issue might be the reason why the newspapers cannot stand in the competition anymore, since the publishing world has become very money-oriented. Therefore, some of the news companies have expanded their portfolio in the digital media. Secondly, the newspapers will lose its market segment due to the evolution of electronic devices. Currently, people are very dependent to gadgets and other similar things. However, the massive growth of technology will also help the expansion of digital media. In addition, the technological advancement will help the information spreads faster than before, something that could not be applied in a printed media. In conclusion, as the newspaper categorized as the media of the past, people will start looking for other options. The other options might be the one with lower cost and more compatible with current technology such as the online media or news websites. Although, the newspaper producers might still have time to protect its business by developing digital platforms.