Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The responsibility of tackling environmental problems is much debated these days. When some urge a global intervention, others feel that it can be much effectively addressed when the responsible countries are involved in the process. I feel both views are relevant in diverse situations. On the one hand, the reason why some demand solution for these issues on a global scale is because of the fact that some of the serious issues can hardly be addressed by individual governments. To be precise, in case of tackling crucial issues like global warming and resultant climate change, international co-operation is mandatory. To explain it further, annual submits on reducing the carbon emissions are attended by the major industrialised countries which use coal and other fossil fuels. It is very difficult to pass a progressive resolution there as many of these countries have dissimilar views. On the other hand, others highlight the history of faster and effective solutions for environmental issues when they are addressed in specific locations, where the issues origin. For example, many arid countries have transformed green in a short span of time when their respective governments have taken pro-active measures. Similarly, many industrialised countries could cut down the use of plastic considerably with stringent laws, which can hardly be possible if it was addressed on a global basis. In short, each country can identify its worst environmental issue and knows the best way to address it. After analysing both ways in detail, today’s environmental issues can be mitigated by both national and international approaches. However, I feel it depends on the type of the problem.