In many countries, there is a push to get as many young people going to university as possible. To what extent do you think this effort is a worthwhile one? Do you think some people can benefit from not going to university?

There are a multitude of nations that promote the youth obtaining a university education. In this essay, I will discuss why this notion can be of benefit to some but also a hindrance to others and form a conclusion. Many countries globally encourage the young to obtain a tertiary degree as it is a benefit to that societies economy. In recent years, the standard fees to attend such an institution have risen dramatically. For instance, international students now pay $20,000 annually to complete a degree. These monetary funds circle back to the government and officials who reign the country. Furthermore, the financial earnings accumulated from these facilities are invested in infrastructure that will put that nation at an advantage. For example, investing in tourist attractions like Alton Towers which, will cause an influx of people to flock to that land and spend money that will increase economic stability. Tertiary education is also important for some specific occupations, such as medicine. A person cannot become a doctor if they do not possess a medical degree. Similarly, a teacher must first pursue some form of higher study before they can particpate in that field of work. However, there are other widespread opportunities that can be just as beneficial, such as apprenticeships. This avenue teaches all the relevant life skills that are needed of an adult. To give some examples, starting a career from an earlier age results in determination, perseverance and resilience being instilled into their minds. Such virtues are needed throughout life regardless of the career path they eventually may choose. Additionally, opting away from further learning saves a significant amount of money, which can be used at a later stage. In conclusion, although university is advantageous for the land’s economy, exploring other ventures can increase competencies in other areas like, grit and self belief.