In many countries, people watch many foreign made television programs and Internet videos. The dominance of imported entertainment is harmful to the cultures of these countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Foreign made television programs and Internet videos are popular in many countries including Indonesia. Should they be banned in order to protect the local cultures of this country? I strongly agree with this view for a number of reasons. Firstly, foreign made television programs basically have their own values. They uphold the freedom of expression for everyone including children. This kind of program might give awareness about aspect of foreign cultures that might be not popular such as LGBTQ+ issues in some countries. Moreover, this would have enormous impacts on the people especially young people who live in the more conservative countries. For instance, people who live in religious countries are not allowed to watch, follow, or agree with LGBTQ+ and views related to these activities. Turning to Internet videos, other reasons these are harmful to the culture of some countries because they usually contain inappropriate material such as pornographic and violent content. This material would have huge impacts on the culture of society. In addition, these videos would influence the people ’s perspective when they encounter with social hardships. For example, when young people watch pornographic videos, they would get more negative exposure and see woman or their peer as sexual object and make it as common action for several people to do the violence. To sum up, the dominance of imported entertainment such as foreign made television programs and Internet videos are very dangerous in many countries including Indonesia that uphold the religious values strongly. For some countries they must keep the value to maintain their sustained own culture for their future generations.