Environmental issues have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offender? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems are not only a local issue because every ecosystem is interconnected. The degradation in a tropical forest can affect the climate in other parts of the Earth. The pollution of rivers and oceans can bring harmful consequences to either close or far away countries. So, I agree that when local governments are not applying harsh fee penalties against offenders, it can be an international subject. Governments must struggle to prevent environmental degradation. Overall, there are two ways to do this. The first manner is through education and persuasion. When education and persuasion do not work, the authorities must use punitive measures. However, some nations have difficulties to apply harsh punishments, especially in multinational and rich companies. A current example occurred in Brazil, some years ago, in a small town called Brumadinho, where a big enterprise in the metallurgic area, called Vale, was responsible for an environmental accident. A rupture of the dam caused the spreading of mining waste into the town, killing more than two hundred people. The government imposed a millionaire fee penalty, but the company only paid part of the fine and compensation and it is still arguing in court. I believe that the most efficient way to avoid this type of disaster, besides the fine by the local government, can be commercial restrictions by other companies, whether local or international suppliers and customers. In conclusion, harsh punishment can serve as a preventive measure for potential offenders, but only international cooperation can effectively manage environmental issues. Furthermore, education and public opinion are important to change the harmful behaviour of companies that only see profits.