Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that the development of technology plays a significant role in our daily lives. Nowadays, lots of people use technology for the sake of school or work, but it is also increasingly being used to monitor people ’s actions and words, one of them is security cameras. There is much debate on whether it is a good or a bad thing and this essay will argue whether the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages or not. There are lots of people who think that the development of technology is beneficial for humans because of the number of criminal cases that are always increasing, such as robbery, murder, assault, etcetera. There have been lots of criminal cases that could be solved due to the CCTV footage that has always been used to solve unanswered questions. For instance, a guy that has been robbed in the supermarket lost all of his important belongings but there is a chance he can get his things back because it is possible to catch the culprit by looking at the security camera. On the other hand, some people think that this is a disadvantage rather than an advantage because there are lots of people who use technology for the wrong purposes to benefit themselves. One of the examples is hacking people ’s phones to get their personal information and use it without the person knowing. In conclusion, the development of technology can be beneficial or harmful depending on how we use it in our daily lives. However, I still believe that it is more beneficial since it has helped us a lot to solve lots of things that happened and hopefully can keep helping us in the future.