Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a notion that teaching children the literature and history of their own country is more necessary than that of other countries. I agree with this statement because learning their history can increase nationalism, leading to a developing country's growth. Still, knowing other countries' histories is also essential for establishing good relationships with foreigners. Every country has its own culture, language, and history. People living in a particular country should know the history of its independence and its literature to increase their ownership and nationalism. Thus, it will raise awareness to help develop their country. For instance, someone studying abroad will return to their country if he has high nationalism and ownership. The analogy is the same as car ownership. We will fix our car if it is ours, but we do not care if the broken car is not ours. Furthermore, teaching the children the literature and history of their own country is essential. Keep in mind that studying other countries’ history is also necessary if we will build collaboration with foreigners. Knowing each other can lead to better relationships and encourage trust. For example, knowing the literature and history of the country we will examine is essential if we study abroad. Local people will be more welcome and trusted if we know about them. Likewise, when we collaborate with outsiders, they will be more accepting of us when we understand their country. In addition, it is important to note that we should know our identity before knowing others, and for that, we should know our literature and history first. In conclusion, it is important to teach the children the literature and history of their country to encourage their ownership and nationalism. After that, knowing other countries’ history will be better for further, especially if we decide to study abroad or collaborate with outsiders.