Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

Expensive price of medications has caused mortality, as many people in poor countries cannot be recovered from curable disease because of the high price. The producers should be responsible for the supply and price of their products. I believe that these companies should provide affordable medications for poor people and this essay will explain my view. Firstly, any pharmaceutical products price can be adjusted from the cost of goods sold. In financial perspective, the margin of products can be lowered as they can be sold at lower price. For instance, these companies can increase their margins for commercial market and then they can decrease the price for the poor countries. Therefore, their products can be affordable for the unfortunate groups. Secondly, these conglomerates could organize socially-oriented program like corporate social responsibility (CSR). The CSR program can play a big part in order to solve the social issue about medications in lower-income countries. As an example, these companies can visit the poor countries and conduct the CSR program by distributing free medications and medical examination as well. That kind of program might be helpful in order to help them recover from the diseases. In conclusion, as many people in poor countries cannot afford medications to cure their diseases, the pharmaceutical companies should be involved to tackle this problem. In order to solve the problem they can consider several actions like, producing special products with lower price for the poor countries and conducting corporate initiative to distribute free medications. In addition, running a big business like the drug conglomerates can also have big social impact for the society.