Social media has completely changed the way family and friends communicate with each other. What ore the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Social media was introduced to the internet around twenty years ago. It has since gone from strength to strength. Many people initially dismissed social media as a passing fashion. They believed that it would never replace face-to-face communication. There are many downsides to this development, but I believe that overall it has had a positive effect on our lives. One of the main reasons why social media websites are so popular is that they are a very convenient way of contacting friends and family. At the touch of a button. it is possible to communicate with somebody you are close to on the other side of the world. In the past, people were able to speak to each other on telephones but they had to make sure that they were both at home to make or answer the call at an agreed time. Furthermore, if someone is a fan of a certain actor or singer. they can easily message that person and tell them so. In return. the fans can get updates on the films or songs the actors or singers are planning to release next. so this is a huge change from the way this communication happened in the past. In my opinion, the increasing popularity of social media is a positive development. It allows everyone to stay in touch constantly, even though it is not in person. For example, if a young person decides to stay out late, they can just phone their parents and let them know. In the past. they would have needed to find a telephone box, and to have the correct change to be able to make a call, and this may have caused their parents to worry. In conclusion, social media has a number of negative sides, but overall it is a positive development. I would recommend that everyone has at least one account that they use every day.