The growing number of overweight  people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity and health issues associated with it is a very important debate in current world situation, where overweight individuals are quite common. Prevention is always better than cure. Hence, I agree to the point of introducing more physical education in school and college curriculum to help prevent the growing concern of obesity. One of the major reasons for increase in the number of overweight people is the modern way of living. People prefer comfort of home, scrolling through social media than stepping out of the house. Being overweight not only impacts an individual but also increases the strain on health care industries.

of mandatory physical education in schools and colleges can increase physical activties activities in young people. Educational institues should accomodate physical education in the curriculum. A balanced physical and academic education will promote for well rounded development of children leading to healthier adults in future. Many countries have made physical education mandatory in schools in many ways such as providing additional scores for children participating in sports. Universities in many countries give scholarship to children with sports background. Many countries have also added nutrition education in the curriculum. Actions like such will motivate children to take up physcial education. This will not only lead to long term health benefits but will also reduce the stress on healthcare systems. Implementing more physical education can also be difficult to tackle due to lack of trained staff and facilities. Government needs to invest more on health education infrastructure to ease the process. Children spend a minimum of 6 to 8 hours a day in schools and colleges. Hence, it is the responsinbility of educational institutions to include more physical education and guide children to have a better mind and better health.