Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In contemporary epoch, it is believed that government ought to invest a large sum of money on railways rather than roads. I agree with the statement since it will contribute to faster and high quality transportation system. To commence with, it is quintessential for government to escalate the quality of the transportation system using the latest technology for its citizens. In terms of fulfilling this approach, authorities can dedicate a certain amount of money to either railways or roads' refurbishment. However, establishing railways brings more advantages than that of roads for residents, especially when they are living in contryside or rural areas. They need to face prominent difficulties prefaring preferring roads over trains to travel between cities. To illustrate an example, consider a commercial truck driver living in Austria or Sweetzerland who is going to deliver a commodity to a customer. As a matter of fact, he has to consider some factors when driving on the road such as weather conditions, road accidents, physical wellbeing, traffic jams and so forth. In addition, he needs to deliver the goods as fast as possible to the patron to earn suffient wages. This will only be feasible if he uses train or subway to reach his destination within the minimum time and less road challenges. Thus, investing money on building railway infrastructures and developments and modernising trians, are among the efficient decisions that officials can do to enhance the transportation system of a country. To conclude, with the mentioned statements, I argue that authorities need to allocate more budget on developing trains and railways to provide comfort for passengers to reach their destination in the shortest time.