In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Children are taught to make as many attempts as possible to achieve what they target in certain cultural backgrounds. One of many advantages this can bring is the encouragement to find all the way to make the dream come true instead of later regrets. In contrast, mental breakdown from self doubt is brought up as potential cons following children's constant attempts without progress. As for the advantages brought out of the children doing hard work to get closer to their goals, they are all well encouraged to put effort into every single elements of their work, which is great and definitely contributive to their personal growth no matter if their goals are reached in the end. Also, the term 'practice makes perfect' rooted in these cultures serves with the same purpose of guiding people to keep up the hard work and not to give up. For example, Harvard students are known to be smarter than a majority of students, yet the latest research done in 2010 proved that besides the intelligence, these students, in order to stand out as the top, tended to study harder than anyone at their age by sacrificing their holidays, breaks, staying disconnected to the world of their fellows, saying no to entertainment or having less sleep hours and so on. However, no amount of attempts is able to guarantee 100% chance of success to anyone. Kids are taught this way but not to understand themselves as well, such as strengths and weaknesses, may get frustrated and strongly upset if they cannot achieve what they expect. From there, depression might sneak into their lives and cause even larger damages than the failure. For instance, 35% of Korean high school students have been reported to risk their lives studying to make their own way to a university but could not achieve that in the end, result in suicide and mental illness. In summary, the way children are taught to work hard towards their goals brings quite many advantages including their dream outcomes to them, yet if the scale of the expectation and how they understand themselves is not considered, they then are more likely to fall victim for mental breakdown.