Some people believe tertiary education should be free, but others say universities should charge students. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The issue whether or not students must be charged for higher education has grown in importance in these years. Some individuals argue that there should be no tuition fee when in comes to studying at tertiary level and in contrary some believe in exact opposite. Although there are outstanding reasons for both sides, I vividly agree with the former opinion based on my personal observations. It is irrefutable that if the education in higher levels transformed to a must pay amenity, it would pose a situation which yields to a competition between wealthy parents and not a healthy one based on intelligence and hard work for students. For instance, if being admitted in a high-level university was confined to being charged of a good amount of money and not having a virtuous CV, not an individual student would work flat out to get admitted. This consequently would contribute a group of profiteers that we affectionately call “Mafia”, who try to make a lucrative business out of this situation. These Mafias do not advocate the financial side of the free studying and defraud the students and their parents to pay more and have more prosperity. Also deprived students with a good potential would lose a chance to improve their life, therefore society would lose efficient future employees. Although people that believe universities should charge students claim that preparing communal facilities is an issue that must be taken into consideration and it is something that parents should pay for, I strongly oppose due to the tax policy. As a result of paying tax, governments should provide a convenient chance for all students to have good educational circumstances and therefore implement a good range of amenities from the tax revenue. Hence the said individuals’ reason is not convincing and there are plenty of other ways to encounter the economic obstacles. To recapitulate, it is important for universities to focus on the educational sides of the applicant students and for the authority to assign an appropriate amount of the revenue for the tertiary education. With implementing a balanced approach of aspects of both these issues there would be no burden on either the universities to meet their financial needs or the students to afford the tuition fee for the ones that they are capable of studying in. Hence I personally think that studying in higher levels must be free.