Some people believe tertiary education should be free, but others say universities should charge students. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

A group of individuals present the view that studying at university should be free of charge for all students, whereas others believe students should pay tuition fees. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that all students should have the same opportunity to study at university. They believe that if universities impose hefty tuition fees on high school graduates, some of them will find it hard to afford the fees and as a result, they will not be able to continue their education. For instance, I personally know a boy who had an impoverished background. Despite his enthusiasm in participating in classes, he was compelled to give up university as he could not bear the tuition fees. Indeed, charging students for attending university will give rise to poor education, especially in deprived areas. On the other hand, another group of people claim that universities need revenue to provide various communal facilities for all students. They insist that different amenities are needed for holding classes on campus, and tuition fees are an important source of income for supplying these amenities. Therefore, universities should continue charging students. However, I do not find this argument convincing. In fact, I believe the main source of revenue for universities should be the budget devoted by governments, not the fees paid by students. To conclude, in my view, free education at university should be made possible for all students. Since governments are responsible for supplying the income needed for university, all of the students, with any background, have the right to continue their tertiary education without worrying about affording tuition fees.