Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are different viewpoints held in the discussion of what is the most important goal for authorities in a country. Whilst some argue that economic development is the major one, other thinks that there are other aims which are as significant. Personally, I believe that sustainable development is just as crucial. On the one hand, a country with a prosperous economic system brings many benefits to its citizens. It provides quality of life since it guarantees stable jobs and avoids unemployment and inflation. Similarly, free healthcare and education can be fullfilled. This is seen in countries like Sweden, where all of these population's well-being assets are achieved due to its economic prosperity. Consequently, it has been are ranked as the happiest country in the world. Conversely, focusing only in the economic development might lead to overlooking the environment degradation. Some of the primary powers in the world are usually industrialized in a way that is not sustainable for the planet, proving that their industries are the ones to be blamed for high levels of gas emissions, deforestation, over-grazing and contamination. For instance, the United States, probably today's top power in terms of its economy, is one of the biggest polluters, being the second country that emits the most CO2. In conclusion, it cannot be denied that economic progress is crucial to keep people's wellfare overall. However, this progress should be made in a sustainable way in order to preserve the ecosystem and ensure that the government is not only taking care of the citizens present, but also preserving their future.