Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In the contemporary epoch, the concept of recycling is an ongoing debate among people. Some believe that the quantity of household recycling is not adequate. In their opinion, it dimands legal enforcement. Although imposing legal requirements may bring about positive outcomes in a short time, I tend to think that rising the masses' awareness about this important issue regarding its various aspects, is way more beneficial. To commence with, with authorities imposing legal enforcements may result in some merits in a limited period of time, but can not tackle this issue for good. Each legal code that is imposed, not only requres executive enforcement but also needs the public long term supports and be obeyed by citizens. Furthermore, if individuals do not find the code rational or challenging to be done, then they will stop doing it and the legal act become isolated and defective. To exemplify, the prohibition of smoking in public places is easy to be violated by people due to lack of social support and lack of awareness of its importance. Thus, legalizing is not efficient itself to overcome this issue. Additionally, people are usually ignorant of both recycling and reusing processes and their crucial importance, which can contribute to far less amount of household recycle. Moreover, most individuals do not know how to recycle their wastes and how it will affect their lives and endangers their offspring's future. Through various educational and cultural programs, officials can demonstrate this activity as a social and global value. Hence, this activity associates with the personage's value and become part of their lifestyle. By implementing such plans, countries like China nd India encourage their population, especially youngsters, to get involved in recycling their home flith. To conclude, I opine that increasing social awareness in terms of recycling and reusing and implementing educational and cultural activities can be more fruitful to overcome this concern rather than enforcing strict laws.