Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some employees have to spend a lot of time travelling to work. Therefore, some individuals harbour a belief that parks and gardens close to city centres should be replaced by housing so as to reduce the transport time to work, whilst others hold the reverse viewpoint. From my perspective,I would like to stand with the sceptics as the main reason that people choose to live in the suburbs is because of the high rental fees and high prices of apartments in city centres. Initially, one of the main arguments in favour of removing parks and gardens in the hearts of cities is because they are generally spacious which can be a waste of space. If the spaces are used to build new houses, it can efficiently increase the numbers of housing and employees will have more options near their workplaces. As they are able to live as close as they can to their companies, the travelling time to work will be shorter than the present situation. Thus, removing gardens and parks is a solution from the aspect of urban space arrangements. At the other end of the spectrum, the root reason for living preferences is usually prices and green spaces in the heart of a city are beneficial to a balanced lifestyle. First of all, rental fees or costs of apartments in city centres are considerably superior to those in the suburbs.Compared to the income levels of most citizens, the high expenditure can be a struggle in daily life. Thus, they have no choice but to live in farther regions from their workplaces. According to the aforementioned, the true issue that the public should pay attention to is the high prices of accommodation. Besides,green spaces in the city ’s hearts provide citizens opportunities to enjoy tranquillity and retreat from the hustle and bustle of a busy life. Hence, removing gardens and parks is not a practical method to solve the problem of the long distance between home and work. To sum up, omitting areas of parks and gardens in central regions of cities cannot resolve the problem from its root. Tackling with high costs of accommodation is rather essential. Moreover, the advantages that parks and gardens bring to people cannot be ignored.