increasing the price of petrol is the best way to reduce growing traffic and pollution. To extent do you agree or disagree.

Compared to few decades ago, traffic and pollution are the serious issues throughout the world. To certain extent, I agree that augmenting the cost of fuel will help to mitigate it. However, there are also alternative measures that can be taken. To initiate with, excessive use of vehicle is the prime reason for increasing traffic and pollution. Inclining the price of fuel will help to decline use or two and four wheelers and subsequently improve the environment. In other words middle class people, which consisted a majority of population in nation such as India will not be afford the cost of fuel. Consequently, they will start using buses and trains. This will not only reduce the congestion of vehicles on road but also drop the emission of harmful gases in environment. one clear example is there was a significant drop of traffic in Ahmedabad when the price of fuel hacked by almost ten percent. On the other hand, there are also some other ways that can prove to be more effective. Government should take some innovative steps like, odd-even rule. To elaborate, odd and even number cars can run only on the alternative days and therefore, the use of cars will fall by 50%.One clear example is, Delhi government implemented this rule last month and 12 -15% of reduction of pollution was observed. Another effective way worth mentioning is to improve the quality as well as frequency of public transport, If government execute this, then people will avoid using private vehicles. To sum up, from the points mentioned above, although, a bike in cost of fuel will reduce traffic. I personally believe that alternative methods like, improvement in public transport facility would be more beneficial.