Public transportation could be made free of charge.Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this change.

Some advanced countries are making a great effort to push the notion of eliminating fares for public transportation in order to increase the economic prosperity of people. I personally hold the view that such an initiative can solely have a staggering positive impact on the public as opposed to a few negligible drawbacks available. As a salient benefit of free public transport, the number of personnel vehicles will experience a drastic hit. To illustrate, free transportation vehicles will encourage more car owners to give up on using their own cars to move around due to the high cost of operating individual cars. Furthermore, less congestion will occur on the streets owing to the popularity of utilising public vehicles instead of individual vehicles. It is worth mentioning that abolishing the payment for public transport ensures great accessibility for low-income individuals who are heavily dependent on this type of savings. For example, Luxembourg has given the green light to charge no fees for its citizens and consequentially, the local government receives dozens of positive feedbacks and could be set as a great example for others to emulate. Although this can cause a great deed in the life of certain individuals, still some implications may take place afterwards. Since more people now will use public vehicles, there will be a spike in overall demand, thus resulting in crowds in metros or buses. For instance, if the existing public infrastructure has not been upgraded in alignment with this imminent demand, then the likelihood of failure in local transportation is unavoidable. In conclusion, despite all potential ramifications on the quality of transportation following the implementation of this decision, many salient merits are available and can easily overweight its disadvantages.