Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is a debate about the issue of crime punishment whether it should be fixed or should be decided according to the person offense or the motive. Although, it is important to have fixed punishments as it enables the judges not to abuse Laws, I believe that considering different circumstances is vital because not all offenses are intension. On the one hand, one of the reasons why fixing punishments for different crimes is crucial is due to the fact that it helps majesty not to take advantage of the laws. That is to say, the majority of the judges use there power in court and over penalize people who have committed simple offenses. This not only leaves them devastated but also depressed. Furthermore, If all crime punishment is fixed, it will help people to know that they have been disciplined fairly. For instance, research done at Makerere by professor John shows that around 50% of the prisoners are being over penalize. However, I think that so many factors have to be considered when deciding to penalize someone hence penalizing must not be fixes. On the other hand, despite the above point, I agree that officers should consider what a person has done wrong and the motive he or she had as some of the illegal acts are done accidently. In other words, a greater number of members who are imprisoned have committed crimes unknowingly without being aware that it will turn into an offense. Moreover, others break laws because of peer groups, trying to fit in a group but not with the aim of hurting others. As proof, a lot of Ugandan law breakers are thrown into prison without putting into account what was their aim of doing so. Therefore, I agree that judges must consider so many things before disciplining. In conclusion, even though fixing punishment for each offense avoids officers from over abusing the law, I think that before poisoning people with long or small periods, a judge should consider what was the goal of doing so as some crimes are not inte