Do the benefits of genetic engineering outweigh the dangers? (Genetically Modified Organisms – GMOs)

Even with today's advances in technology, there are still concerns about using genetically modified food. Despite the potential risk of lead poisoning, the lengthening of the food life and improving the agriculture economy surpass the drawbacks. Despite some problems stated below, genetic engineering brings a lot of benefits for both people ’s health and the economy. To explain further, rather than depending on preservatives to keep food fresh while it sits on a shelf, genetically modified foods lengthen food life by increasing the natural properties of the food itself. According to Environmental Nutrition, some preservatives are linked to an increased risk of cancer, heart disease, and allergies, if used for a long time, the user will easily get those dangerous diseases. Additionally, Genetically modified foods often have a more attractive taste and colour than normal ones, but still, guarantee a source of nutrients, so they attract a lot of buyers, which benefits both the country's economy and the income of farmers, and the people also enjoy nutrient-rich foods. Hence, Genetically modified foods can bring many benefits to people and the economy. Later, there are also some minor problems associated with colorimetrically modifying foods. One of the common concerns is that GMO foods can trigger an allergic reaction, that is to say, when scientists combine the genes of the food such as nuts or soybeans, people who are allergic to them can easily get worse. This may be true, but now, every product has a warning for allergic people so they can avoid dangerous accidents. Therefore, GMO foods do not really affect human health and life. In conclusion, the advantages of genetically modified food —which extend its shelf life and improve consumer health and the growth of the economy —far outweigh any drawbacks.