Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries, while other people think that it is not necessary to travel abroad because all the information can be seen on TV and the Internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that traveling abroad is an indispensable way for learning about other countries. I agree with the opinion, while getting information online and on TV can also help us get familiar with another country. A trip to a new country can be beneficial of getting the knowledge of the place, as we are able to communicate with the local citizens face to face. We may have more chances to get in touch with the local people when travelling, such as the salesmen, the hotel managers, and the local tour guides. In the course of chatting, the daily lifestyles and living habits of local citizens can be easily known, thereby helping visitors learn about the real living conditions of the people in the country. People can also get to know about the country by visiting the places of historic interests there. By visiting the historical sites and museums, people might get interested about the history of the country, because they can traveled to the places the old people used to live and know the details which may not be mentioned on the internet and TV. For example, people who went to the Palace Museum in Beijing can deeply understand the luxury lives of the ancient emperors of China, and be impressed by the enormous power owned by Chinese ancient Kings. On the other hand, trips abroad may not be the only way to know things of a place, people can also easily get those information online and on TV. The advancement of Internet contributes to the connection of places on earth. And people can get knowledge and news of a distant country on screens without leaving home, which can save their time and budget. For example, the TV soap operas of Friends gives us real and attracting information of how middle aged Americans live. Overall, although there are several budget-sufficient methods in getting information of an unfamiliar country, traveling abroad still plays an important role for the conversations and sightseeing visitors had during the trips.