In the recent decades wildlife populations and plant species have suffered a global decline. What are the reasons for this? What are some possible solutions?

In recent years, flora and fauna have decreased enormously. Human activity has been the main cause of the loss of species; however, some measures could improve this situation. To begin with, a popular belief is that urbanization and deforestation have a detrimental effect on the ecosystem, which causes the disappearance of biodiversity. The alarming growth of city dwellers has led to the expansion of urban areas. Typically, this city sprawl promotes the cleaning of green areas in order to build as many houses and buildings as possible, yet without contemplating the severe damage that this development causes to the habitat of wildlife and, consequently, the death of a large number of plants and animals. However, the expansion of megacities can be easily constrained by government regulation. For instance, in many cities of the UK, areas of open land surrounding the city are set on which building is prohibited, the mentioned are called green belts. If more government policy was launched in order to stop the creation of even greater cities via deforestation, organisms could be saved. Unsustainable agriculture is also known to have provoked a decline in wildlife population. Mainly, farming activities lead to the erosion of soil. Although erosion can be caused due to natural reasons, it can also be a result of human activity. Thus, human erosion such as the overgrazing of livestock has altered dirt, killing a large amount of plants. One way to stop this from happening is to consume less meat. As can be expected, a vegetarian diet is capable of producing a decrease in the industrialized mass production of meat. If more people educated themselves about the benefits for the environment of a plant-based diet, the amount used for the feeding of cows would decline; resulting in a considerable preservation of flora. To conclude, urbanization, deforestation and unconscious farming have caused detrimental damage to the natural environment resulting in the drop of living beings. However, if steps such as restricting urban development and the adoption of a vegetarian diet are taken, it is likely to remedy this situation in the future.