Some children spend hours every day on their smart phones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is the positive or negative development?

With the current advancement of smartphones technology, it attracts many users, especially children, to use up their time every day. The main root cause of this habit is a lack of control from parents to limit children's screen time. In my opinion, it leads to a negative development since physical fitness can be declined as children will find smartphones more appealing. To begin with, the true premise why many children get addicted to their smartphones is parents who do not restrict the daily usage rate. This issue can appear because many parents utilize smartphones as a companion agents for their kids while they are away for work. Take me as an example. Since my mom is an exceptional workaholic, she does not have enough time to control my screen time and she tends to give me extra allowance since she cannot provide me with other alternative entertainment. As a result, with no adequate restriction from our closest people, it makes children spend their hours on phones. This tendency can lead to a bad effect. Children who allocate their whole seconds on smartphones will increase their chance of becoming obese. This happens as kids refuse to move their bodies frequently, hence the calorie intake and fat-burning rate will be unbalanced. For instance, 90% of the total children populations in America are obese and research states that the main contributing factor is the inclination to choose online games on smartphones rather than outdoor activities. This is a concrete evidence about how excessive smartphones usage can lead to a bad consequence. To sum up, many children spend their whole seconds on their phones. While parents ' control can be a reason for this problem, I believe this trend is able to foster a bad impact on children's health status.